'Watch' Today's GRAIL Moon Smash: DNews Nugget

//

Today, at 5:28 p.m. EDT (2:28 p.m. PDT), a pair of NASA spacecraft will carry out a double-kamikaze maneuver into a lunar mountain. This spectacular end to the Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) mission can’t be witnessed on Earth however, but NASA will be streaming live commentary by mission scientists of the moon smash.

The coverage will begin at 5 p.m. EDT (2 p.m. PDT). The streaming video will be available on UStream and Discovery News will be livetweeting the impact via @Discovery_Space.

GRAIL has been a highly successful near-year long mission intended to map out the gravity of the moon. Using two innovative probes — aptly named “Ebb” and “Flow” — tiny fluctuations in lunar gravity could be sensed to create the most comprehensive gravity survey of the entire surface and lunar interior.

More on GRAIL:

Kamikaze Probes to Smash into Lunar Mountain

Behold! A ‘Pounded Moon’ Gravity Map

NOTE: In space, no one can hear a spacecraft scream, but I added some extra drama to the official NASA image of GRAIL’s final crash trajectory regardless:

GET MORE MUST-READS HERE!

DISCOVERYnewsletter
 
Invalid Email